Week 9: Where Do I Call Home?

This post is a long time coming. It’s a few weeks late and that has a lot to do with that fact that I’ve been busy and (accepting full responsibility) super lazy in the time I’ve had that wasn’t already dedicated to something else. I’ve spent most of this time at work and at home, but have also thought a lot about what “home” means to me.

Growing up, I moved around a lot. By the time I finished high school, I had already lived in at least 7 different houses. I had lived all over the state of California and in various different climate zones.

where-i-live-1

But “home” was always Chico, California.

I wasn’t born in Chico and, in fact, only spent a few of my formative years here. But this is where my grandparents were and we visited at least once a year while we lived elsewhere. Something about this city drew me in and allowed me to feel comfortable at all times.

It was where I felt like I fit in and belonged.

When it was time to choose a place to attend University, choosing Chico State was something of a no-brainer for me. I still had a few friends from my middle school and early high school years and it didn’t take long for me to find a new place within a couple different groups – the gamers and the theatre folk.

 I’ve lived in Chico continuously since 2005 and, despite the fact that I don’t think I’ll remain here forever, I have a feeling it will always be where I think of as my true home.

where-i-live-2

Comments

  1. You are lucky that you have found home, I am still looking! For a long time I said Saudi Arabia, but after 10 years I guess it’s not home anymore. At the moment home is wherever my cat is!

What are your thoughts?

