Week 8: What Do I Love About Myself?

The trick of making this question part of the 52 Weeks of Me is forcing myself to acknowledge what I do well in a public forum. Generally speaking, I always feel like I must appear super conceited when I talk about what I do well and what I love about being me. But not today! Today, I can proudly tell you that I love being me and I love how I approach life.

Because that’s what I love about myself – the way I look at life and react to it.

being-silly

I won’t pretend that I’m always flawless in my lifestyle, but I do make a point to be thoughtful in my decision-making and do what I can to make sure I’m happy (and that it’s not at the expense of others). For that matter, I also try to ensure those around me are happy whenever possible.

My approach to life is primarily optimistic – with an occasional pessimistic day to keep me balanced. I love exploring the world and finding beauty in all around me. One of my favorite things to do is stop in the middle of somewhere completely familiar and normal to me and just look at it more closely. I find that the more often you see the same things, the less you notice them. Even when they are stunning and remarkable in their own right.

To be entirely cliche, it’s important to take time to look at both the forest and the trees.

I want to view the world with the wonder and excitement of a child, but with the understanding of my life experience. It’s this desire and determination that allow me to periodically stop and say, “What a fucking gorgeous world/country/city I’m in right now!”

totoroSource

At present, I have 2 tattoos and am in the planning stages of my third. It hasn’t been drawn yet, but I want to describe it to you now. It will primarily feature Totoro (from Hayao Miyazaki’s My Neighbor Totoro) flying through the night on his top with the black umbrella as the wind. (Sidebar: If you haven’t seen this stunning children’s film yet, you should. And if you’re a local, hit me up, because I’m always happy to re-watch it!) Surrounding this iconic image of Totoro will be a quote spoken by Dumbledore to Harry in Harry Potter and Half-Blood Prince. “Let us step into the night and pursue that flighty temptress adventure.”

This tattoo design represents everything I’ve just described to you about my approach to life. It is only the children, who recognize the magic around them, who can see Totoro and and experience life with him. At every step, life should be an adventure, and I want to pursue it always.

What are your thoughts?

