Week 6: What Are My Strangest Hobbies?

Ren-Faire-3

I have a lot of hobbies and passions that people find odd. In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if there was a pool where my friends and family are laying down cash to guess which hobbies I’ll feature here today.

So what will it be? My Harry Potter obsession (resulting in traveling the world to attend events)? Knitting in bars (while listening to live Celtic music)? My absurdly intense love of tea (so intense, it drove me to write a blog about it)? Alas, no. None of these things.

Today, I’m going to tell you about the Renaissance Faire.

Ren Faire 1

I first worked the Ren. Faire when I was but an innocent 17-year-old. I joined a gaming guild an online friend was a member of. Amberly took me under her wing, made my costume (I funded it, but she did all the hard work!), and brought me in as a new member of Innyard Games. It was an amazing summer that made one hell of an impression on my life.

The following year, I moved away from the Bay Area for college and, having no vehicle for transportation and little to no money, Renaissance Faire had to be given up for the time being. I kept my costume available and even used it a few years at Halloween and for certain cosplay opportunities (with a few slight alterations based on the character).

About 8 years later, I saw an advertisement for the Northern California Renaissance Faire (the very same faire I experienced all those years ago) and realized I finally had a method of transportation and the ability to head down for a weekend. I attended the second to last weekend of that year’s faire and was thoroughly reminded why it had always remained in the back of my mind. I had such a great time, I made sure to drive back down the following weekend for another go at it.

Ren-Faire-2

I started looking for any opportunity to attend Ren. Faires and found a couple of single day events within a couple hours of home that were honestly pretty unsatisfying.

It quickly became clear to me that the financial aspect of this was not going to be sustainable. With $15-25 daily pass costs on top of the gas, camping/hotel, food, and drink… let’s just say I couldn’t afford to continue as I was. It was time for me to begin seeking a new guild to join.

I’d already determined that Innyard Games was no longer in action, so I decided to begin making inquiries whenever I attended an event. Not long later, I attended a faire in South Lake Tahoe and, upon asking around a bit, discovered a guild of fun, like-minded people – Black Ramsay’s Companye of Foote.

Ren-Faire-4

I’ve since attended 2 (or is it 3?) faires as an official provisional member of Black Ramsay’s and don’t think I could have found a better fit.

This year, I’m planning a new costume, attending the RenSymposium, and making it to at least 3 faires. Can’t wait to get started!

Comments

  1. I wish they had such fairs in my country.. I would love to go to one!

What are your thoughts?

