I Like My Women Like I Like My Tea

bagloosetea_473web

Ah, the everlasting debate – Loose Leaf vs. Tea Bags. There are tea snobs out there who will refuse to even consider anything in a tea bag, but I think it’s important to note that not all tea bags are bad!

Before I proceed, I’ll state something that I will probably repeat frequently on this blog – the only way to tell if a tea is “good” is to taste it. If you like it, then it must be good!

However, just because a tea tastes good doesn’t necessarily mean it’s of high quality. I find the same to be true of beer and wine. For example, I know people who legitimately enjoy the taste of Coors Light (eugh!). Just because they like the taste of it doesn’t suddenly make it a quality craft beer.

bagloosetea_452web

Tea has a lot of great health properties, not least of which being a host of antioxidants and, in particular, the amino acid theanine. Theanine helps reduce stress and allows your body to use the caffeine in tea in a more sure-footed manner (think of it as a smooth bell curve rather than a spike and crash). When you drink a loose leaf tea, you’re able to get all of these benefits in full force, especially when you brew the tea in a space large enough for the leaves to fully expand in the water.

Tea bags, on the other hand, restrict the flow of water to a certain degree. This means that not all of the antioxidants and other nutrients present in the tea can pass through some of the heavier paper bags and, in some cases, the leaves in the bag just don’t have enough space to expand, further limiting the benefits. This also means you don’t get the full flavor the tea has to offer.

bagloosetea_465web

Plus, and here’s the real kicker with tea bags, a number of the tea bags you will find are filled with just the dust and fannings (basically when you take a barrel filled with tea leaves, take out the full leaves, and then use just the detritus left at the bottom). To be fair, they’re not all made like this, but it’s definitely part of what they use to fill many tea bags.

On the other hand, there has been a movement toward full leaf teas in a silk pyramid/tetrahedron bag. This negates basically all of the issues with tea bags while adding the convenience of not having to measure your tea, use an infuser, or any of that. Adagio Teas and Two Leaves and a Bud are two of my favorite tea companies that use these nice pyramid bags effectively.

bagloosetea_451web

However, part of the magic of a good cup of tea brewed from loose leaf is the process of making it and enjoying the benefits. The tea has naturally calming attributes, but the act of brewing in a nice teapot, a gaiwan, or even a french press can achieve many of the same results.

Personally, I find that taking the time to thoughtfully measure my tea, heat my water, and brew the liquor allows me to separate my mind from whatever pressures it may be under outside of this tea brewing experience. And when it’s time to drink the tea, I like to focus on the flavor and the heat of it suffusing throughout my body. It’s an extremely pleasant way to collect myself and enjoy a few moments mentally apart from the rest of the world.

All in all, I guess I really do prefer my tea loose (allow me to interject now that loose women are not to my personal taste). But when I’m down to the wire, traveling, or simply a bit limited in space or time, a tea bag will set me up nicely!

Sources
1 http://www.webmd.com/vitamins-supplements/ingredientmono-1053-THEANINE.aspx?activeIngredientId=1053&activeIngredientName=THEANINE
2 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theanine#Effects_on_the_brain
3 http://www.teaclass.com/lesson_0104.html

Photos by Briana Morrison

What are your thoughts?

