Honey Badger Don’t Care

honey badger1

About a month ago, I was perusing the internet (shocking, I know) and happened upon a picture of a bottle of wine that piqued my interest – Honey Badger Sweet Red.

As a (clearly) Hufflepuff wine, I knew I must have some. I conducted a bit of research and could not find any indication of where it was carried. Upon reaching out to the winery itself for more information, a very kind rep at Honey Badger offered to send a couple bottles along for me to sample since there weren’t any sellers located near me.

Now, full disclosure here… They did send me free wine to review and, while I am practiced at reviewing teas, I’ve never reviewed a wine before. So bear with me and I hope you enjoy my venture into the world of viticulture!

honey badger2

A little bit about the Honey Badger Sweet Red: it’s made in South Africa, is a 2011 vintage, and it consists of 95% Shiraz and 5% Pinotage (don’t worry, I had no idea what Pinotage was before this either).

When it comes to wine, I’m not overly picky. I tend to prefer reds, even in summer, and lean toward Pinot Noirs and Zinfandels more than Cabernets and Merlots. I enjoy a full flavor that isn’t overpowering, something that offers a lightness while consuming without sacrificing taste. With that said, I enjoyed the Honey Badger Sweet Red (“sweetness without the sting” is their tagline).

honey badger4

It’s not my favorite wine I’ve ever had and won’t be added to my list of go-to wines, though that’s more to do with the fact that there are no local sources for it. What it is, though, is refreshing and sweet. It’s not so sweet that you feel the need to balance it out with something savory, but it sure adds a nice touch when you do. In short, it’s an ideal red wine to enjoy in the summer – just pop it in the fridge half an hour before opening and the slight chill mellows the sweetness and gives you just the right coolness to make the warm summer nights even nicer.

honey badger3

To give it a run for its money, my roommate and I barbecued some steak and rounded the meal out with balsamic asparagus and garlic mashed potatoes. On it’s own, the Honey Badger Sweet Red is fun and enjoyable. It has a distinct fruity, berry flavor that I believe is typically referred to as “jammy” in the wine-tasting world, and makes for an excellent dinner companion. Paired with the bite of garlic and balsamic vinegar and tempered with the smooth steak flavor, the Sweet Red gave hints of spiciness that were difficult to evoke otherwise. The two of us agreed it would go well with a pork loin and have vowed to try another bottle sometime in the future with that pairing made.

In the end, I have absolutely enjoyed this wine and, should I encounter it in future, will definitely add a bottle or two to my stash. Just maybe not a full case.

And now… for what I know you all were waiting for…

[youtube http://youtu.be/4r7wHMg5Yjg]
What are your thoughts?

