Call of the Wild

table mtn creek
*Originally posted on 12/5/2012 to Honest Adventure

I love the rain.

I love cold weather and thunderstorms and rainclouds. I love the smell in the air and the crispness of my breath. And I love layering scarves and coats and gloves to stay cozy in the chill air.

One blustery Wednesday morning in October, I woke to the sound of rain outside my window. The dark rainclouds hovered over the nearby hills, calling my name. On my drive to the office, all I could think about was how much I wanted to run in the rain and jump in the puddles.

A few hours later, I was inextricably drawn to leave the office and seek somewhere outside to explore. Just 25 minutes from home, Table Mountain was calling my name.

With a sense of pure, unadulterated joy, I made my escape and witnessed absolute beauty.

table mtn tree

table mtn frog

table mtn rainbow

Have you ever just taken off to seek adventure? What happened?

What are your thoughts?

