#DownWithDOMA

DOMA3

Just last week, the Supreme Court knocked the Defense Of Marriage Act down a peg. DOMA no longer defines marriage as exclusively being between a man and a woman.

I’m not gay, but I have a number of friends who are and I have been a staunch supporter of their rights ever since I was old enough to understand that they are discriminated against. I was lucky to be born in a location, family, and with certain predispositions that afford me most equal rights. Why should others have fewer opportunities just because they were born different from me?

They shouldn’t. That’s really the long and short of it.

The day we all learned about the downfall of DOMA and Proposition 8 (banning gay marriage in California), there was a nice little gay rights rally in downtown Chico. Here are a few of my favorite signs, outfits, and people.

DOMA4

DOMA1

DOMA2

DOMA5

What are your thoughts?

