No Shame, No Regrets

face lick

Originally posted to Honest Adventure on 10/1/2012

The key to living without shame and regret is to not do things that would cause you to be shameful or regretful.

Do not simply ignore your shame and regret, but instead live purposefully and with awareness of the results of your actions.

It’s also about not missing opportunities to try something new, even when you feel like you’re going to look like an idiot. Heck, especially when you feel like you’re going to look like an idiot.

I really don’t have any compulsions against making a fool of myself. In fact, it’s kind of a specialty of mine. I just want to enjoy my adventures when I’m on them and, no matter how crazy or weird a situation I get myself into, I want to look back on it with the joy I felt having the adventure.

wrocking-out

I recently hosted a Couchsurfer and we had a conversation about living without shame and regret. We discussed the importance of experiencing negative emotions or behaving in a negative way (not on purpose, per se), and living through to the other side.

If you do something that you perhaps ought not to have, learn from your mistakes and make a change.

Don’t let the negativity of a past situation define it. Without shame or regret surrounding your past negative experiences, they can transform into something positive – something that allows you to re-build who you are, how you behave, and how to look at the world.

I’ve learned from my past – failed relationships, travelling with too many plans laid out, travelling with no plans laid out, arguments I’ve had with family and friends, and countless other experiences.

Sometimes the negative things seem to encompass your entire world. Let go of those emotions and see what comes next. It’s not always easy, and sometimes it takes days, months, or even years to fully release yourself from certain negativity.

It’s all going to be worth it and you’ll know yourself better in the end.

bein crazy face

Comments

  1. Good advice, I am pretty good at letting go of the past (after much practice!) but still not great at laughing at myself or inviting others to laugh at me.. I could be more daring in that sense!

What are your thoughts?

